Orono, Maine – The University of Maine celebrated three of its top advocates at the Stillwater Society dinner on May 21. The annual event in Orono honors UMaine’s most generous philanthropists. Currently, there are 1,541 members in the society, including 270 new inductees and 197 members who progressed in their membership level at the event.

“The Stillwater Awards honor those who have consistently demonstrated philanthropic leadership and dedicated service on behalf of the University of Maine,” said UMaine President Joan Ferrini-Mundy. “This year’s recipients – alumni Matthew Rodrigue and Trish Riley, and longtime College of Engineering Dean Dana Humphrey – are among our strongest advocates for student success and the importance of a university. in Maine and beyond. We appreciate their vision and commitment to our R1 university and the leaders of tomorrow.

The honorees, also members of the Stillwater Society, were alumni Matt Rodrigue and Trish Riley, and Dean Dana Humphrey.

Rodrigue grew up in Wilton, Maine where he was a standout runner and valedictorian of the Mt. Blue High School Class of 2000. As a student at UMaine, Rodrigue competed in varsity cross country , student government, and Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity. He also served as a student administrator for the University of Maine system and was a senior skull. Rodrigue served four terms on the Board of Visitors. He is the founder of the University of Maine Foundation, where he is currently a member of the investment committee. He also co-chairs the UMaine 2025 Commission, and remains an active volunteer with Sigma Phi Epsilon.

Riley of Brunswick was active in student government and was elected the first female student government president. She was a student representative on the Faculty Senate and on the first task force on the status of women, chaired by her mentor, English professor Constance Carlson. A member of Pi Beta Phi, she was also active in the women’s movement, leading the first women’s symposium and working with community members to start a daycare center on campus. She also worked for students to have the right to vote in their college town. She was president of the Alumni Association, chaired the Board of Visitors, and served on the board of the UMaine Foundation. She currently sits on the UMS Board of Directors. Riley holds a bachelor’s and master’s degree from UMaine.

Humphrey de Palmyra taught early in his career while doing research for the Maine Department of Transportation. He became a pioneer in using pieces of scrap tires, which he called tire-derived aggregates (TDA), as fill for highways and bridge abutments. Over the years, he has completed projects from coast to coast in the United States and has consulted on projects in Canada, Australia, Hong Kong and Europe. In 1994, his achievements were recognized when he was named Maine Professor Emeritus and Carnegie Foundation of Maine Professor of the Year. He has served as President of Civil Engineering, President of UMaine’s 150th Anniversary Celebration, Head of Education for the Maine College of Engineering, Computing, and Information Science, and for the past 16 years, Dean of UMaine College of Engineering. . Under his leadership, college enrollment has increased by more than 70% and annual research grants now exceed $30 million. He oversaw the fundraising, planning and construction of the $78 million Ferland Engineering Education and Design Center which will open in August 2022. He also serves on the review committee for the Alfond Leaders Student Debt Reduction program. For this work he was honored as the first Kenneth Warren Saunders and Henry W. Saunders Professor of Engineering Leadership and Management.

University of Maine Foundation President Jeff Mills, who moderated the event, said, “It’s a pleasure to celebrate those who have given so much to UMaine and it’s our opportunity to thank them. We never want anyone to think that this amazing service is taken for granted.

Guests were entertained by UMaine School of Performing Arts faculty and recent alumni who wrote and performed a parody song to honor each winner.

​​The Stillwater Society was formed in 2000 to recognize people who have consistently demonstrated philanthropic leadership, loyalty and dedication on behalf of the university. The awards are presented semi-annually at the Stillwater Society Dinner.

Contact person: Monique Hashey, [email protected]